COVID-19 Update and the City of Joliet - For more info visit: Coronavirus Resources/ Actualizacion de COVID-19 y La Ciudad de Joliet - Para más información visite: Coronavirus Resources

Environmental And Refuse Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The Environmental and Refuse Commission was created on March 3, 1970. The eight (8) members are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council for a two year staggered term. The Commission members shall initially choose their term of office either by lot, vote, or preference. Subsequent appointments shall be for a term of 2 years and an appointment to fill a vacancy shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term. Vacancies shall be appointed by the Mayor and members shall serve until their successors are selected.  

The Commission shall:

  •  Investigate and study various methods to solve problems concerning air and water pollution and garbage and refuse collection and disposal.
  • In conjunction with said investigations and studies, the Commission shall recommend to the City Council, ordinances to implement their recommendations.
  • The Commission shall also recommend ordinances for adoption by the County or by other municipalities or laws for adoption by the legislature of the State of Illinois.
  • The Commission shall also, from time to time, recommend plans for specific improvements in methods of garbage and refuse collection, or for correction of the problems of air and water pollution pursuant to their investigations. 
  • The Commission shall give aid to the City officials who are charged with duties involving garbage, refuse collection and disposal, and those duties which could result in possible air or water pollution.
  • The Commission shall make specific recommendations to the Joliet City Council relative to garbage and refuse collections and disposal no later than January 31, 1971.

In addition to the members of the Commission, the Secretary to the Mayor shall serve as Minute Clerk to the Commission, keeping minutes of all proceedings.  The City Manager shall designate one member of his Staff to serve as liaison between the Administration, the Commission, and the City Council.

As soon as possible after the initial appointment and following each biennial appointment of members to full terms, the Commission shall organize itself by the election of a Chairman, a Vice Chairman and such other officers as it deems necessary.  Such officers shall hold office for a term of one year and may succeed themselves.  The Commission shall adopt such bylaws governing its procedures and regulating its business as it, from time to time, deems proper and necessary.  The adoption and amendment of bylaws shall be by a majority vote for all members of the Commission provided; however every, member of the Commission shall be furnished a copy of said proposed bylaws and amendments at least ten (10) days before consideration for adoption.  The Commission shall submit an annual report to the City Manager and the City Council no later than April 5 of each year for the preceding year.


Meetings: As Needed

Committee Members

Mike Bily
Gary Davidson
John Hertko
 Wayne Horne
Marc Kaufman
 Maria Anna Rafac
Jim Riggs
Richard Rodriguez