COVID-19 Update and the City of Joliet - For more info visit:  Coronavirus Resources/ Actualizacion de COVID-19 y La Ciudad de Joliet - Para más información visite:  Coronavirus Resources

National Register Historic Districts

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

A National Register historic district is a historic district that is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The National Register is the official Federal list of districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture. National Register properties have significance to the history of their community state, or the nation. There are two National Register Historic Districts in Joliet.

National Register Historic Districts in Joliet

Upper Bluff National Register

East Side National Register

National Register Historic District vs. Local Historic District

There is a substantial difference between a local historic district and a National Register Historic District. While both types of historic districts celebrate the architecture and history of that area, properties within a local historic district are subject to design guidelines and preservation standards, which are in place to protect the historic character of that area.

A National Register Historic District:

  • Does not restrict the use or disposition of property or obligate private property owners in any way
  • Does not require conformance to design guidelines or preservation standards when property is rehabilitated unless specific preservation incentives (tax credits, grants) are involved
  • Does not prevent the demolition of historic buildings and structures within designated areas