Joliet Public Library Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


When the corporate authorities of a city establish a public library, the Mayor shall, with the approval of the City Council, appoint a board of nine (9) trustees chosen from city residents.  No more than one member of the City Council shall be a member of the Library Board.  The first library trustees of a City shall hold office as follows:  one –third shall serve for one year, one-third shall serve for two years, and one-third for three years, from the first of July following their appointment. At the first regular meeting, these trustees shall cast lots for the respective terms.  Annually thereafter, the Mayor shall be before the first of July each year, appoint as before 3 trustees to take the place of the retiring trustees.  The trustees appointed by the Mayor, shall hold office for 3 years and until their successors are appointed.  The Mayor may remove any trustee in the manner provided in Section 3.1-35-10 of the Illinois Municipal Code [65ilcs 5/3. 1-35-10].


Meetings: On Request


Board Members

Emitra Ostrem
John L. Markley
Lynn Poper Samalea
Carol Boban
Nancy Henricksen
Esperanza Chavez
Diane Harris
Gail Gawlik