COVID-19 Update and the City of Joliet - For more info visit: Coronavirus Resources/ Actualizacion de COVID-19 y La Ciudad de Joliet - Para más información visite: Coronavirus Resources

Joliet Regional Port District

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The Joliet Regional Port District Board governs the Port District located in the Will County townships of DuPage, Lockport, Joliet, Troy, and Channahon. It promotes industrial, commercial, and transportation activities; constructs, operates or leases, and maintains port and terminal facilities; establishes and maintains public airports and airport facilities.  There are ten (10) members, three (3) are appointed by the Governor, no more than two from the same political party, three (3) are appointed by the Mayor of Joliet, no more than two from the same political party, three (3) members are appointed by the County Executive of Will County with the advice and consent of the County Board and one (1) member is appointed by the President of the Village of Romeoville, with the advice and consent of the corporate authorities of the Village of Romeoville.  Secretary, Treasurer, General Manger, General Attorney, and Chief Engineer are all appointed by the Board.  The length of term is six years, beginning June 1 of staggered years and until the successor is appointed and qualified.  Chairperson is elected by the Board.

All members of the Board must be residents of Will County and no more than two from the same political party.  Members appointed by the Governor must reside outside Joliet and Romeoville and those appointed by the Mayor of Joliet must reside inside the City of Joliet.  Those appointed by the Village of Romeoville must reside in Romeoville.  Joliet residents residing in Kendall County may not be appointed to the Board and no one can have financial or property interested in District business.



Board Members

 David Silverman
 David Hill
 Joseph Strong
 Jason Cox
 Herb Lande
 Steve Bixenmann
 James Klick
  Ronald Kevish
 Ray Soliman
 John Noak